Newbridge Memorial Hall, NewbridgeClient: Seddon Construction
The Institute opened in 1908 and included a billiards room, library, committee room and reading room. The ‘Memo’ – as it is known locally had a ballroom and cinema which was built in 1924 as a memorial to local servicemen who died during the First World War.
The trustees of the Memo had gone through nine years of endeavour to get this major restoration scheme underway and bring this iconic building back to its former glory.
It had been part funded by the European Regional Development Fund through the Welsh Government, Welsh Government’s Targeted Match Fund, the Heritage Lottery Fund, Big Lottery, CADW, Trustees of the Institute and Memo and the Coalfields Regeneration Trust and others with Caerphilly County Borough Council being a key supporter.
The upgrade of this iconic Grade II listed building was designed by Alwyn Jones Architects and recently refurbished with dedication and care by contractors Seddon Construction. RACS provided advice and layout designs for both the kitchen and bar area and were subsequently appointed for both the supply and installation of all commercial grade appliances.
The “Memo” has once again become a crucial hub for the local community, with a busy modern library, daily classes and events and a variety of evening entertainment all supported by the variety of equipment supplied and installed by RACS.